Walker (Wall-Carr – marshy place by the (Hadrian's’s) wall) is situated on an elevated plateau at about (30 metres) above a broad bent in the river Tyne about 3km east of Newcastle City Centre.
Agricultural until the early nineteenth century, the only feature that provoked comment in early topographical descriptions – for its picturesque qualities – was Walker Dene. Rising from small burns which had their confluence within the site of the present park.
Walker Park was laid out in 1888 on about twenty acres of farmland. Thomas Crawford described it in 1904. " At the entrance (to the park) from Somerset Terrace (off Church Street) is the gardeners residence and on the left is a lake, which is utilised for sailing yachts. Most of the borders are studded with trees, shrubs and flowers; a large proportion of the land is used for games of cricket, football etc. There are two large bowling greens, also two excellent tennis courts" Subsequently, a number of pavilions, statues and a bandstand were added.
It was only during the 1930’s that Walker became submerged in the urban spread of Newcastle. The City Council made continued improvement in domestic facilities but this was at the expense particularly of children’s play possibilities and by 1939 the only significant public open space remaining in Walker was Walker Park.
No new parks were laid out in Newcastle after 1914 and at Walker Park facilities were progressively withdrawn. It was not until the 1960’s that local authority once again undertook investments in recreation on any scale. Walker park along with Walker Parish Churchyard is the only significant mature tree planting in the ward Species include elm, sycamore, lime, willow, poplar and whitebeam, which grows alongside mature shrubbery and hedges with spring and summer bedding.
The current layout of Walker Park was designed and opened in 1988.
Description harvested from Newcastle City Council - Walker Park
Newcastle City Council - Walker Park